Skip to main content

reviews

87
Based on 42 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 78 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Moneyball is one of the best and most viscerally exciting films of the year. show more

  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Naysayers have been claiming for years that the "Moneyball" book wouldn't work as a movie. But ultimately, it's the cinematic touches that keep this film version from becoming something exceptional. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The supporting cast is strong, as is the deft, sharply witty script. Miller directs elegantly, letting the narrative unfold at a deliberate, artful pace. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Never before, though, have statistics added up to such electrifying entertainment. After the mostly minor-league productions of recent months, this movie, which was directed by Bennett Miller, renews your belief in the power of movies. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Funny, furious, and full of front-office drama. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This extraordinary hybrid of a movie lives and breathes the game, yet its achievement is bigger than that. There's a touch of old-fashioned romanticism here, but more crucially there's strategy going on inside Bennett Miller's movie that turns it into something cool and special. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The movie does achieve something nearly impossible: Someone who doesn't even like the sport may care about Billy Beane and the 2002 Oakland Athletics. show more

  • 90
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Now that Pitt no longer has brash youth on his side, he's digging deeper and doing more with less. It's the kind of acting - understated but woven with golden threads of movie-star style - that gives us more to look at rather than less. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A smart, intense and moving film that isn't so much about sports as about the war between intuition and statistics. I walked in knowing what the movie was about, but unprepared for its intelligence and depth. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Moneyball is the perfect sports movie for these cash-strapped times of efficiency maximization. show more

  • October 09, 2012 xs00000000129376
    Report This User

    I dont know much about baseball but the movie was good. I think Brad Pitt did a great Job in it, Great acting.

  • July 06, 2012 ENGLISH
    Report This User

    The movie was very good and Brad Pitt did an excellent job of acting. A good insight of the game.

  • May 28, 2012 pksotter
    Report This User

    We enjoyed the movie, but we felt that we were watching Robert Redford. Many of Brad Pitt\'s mannerisms and the way he talked sounded very much like Redford. If Pitt is modeling Redford, he did an excellent job!

  • April 09, 2012 mb00000000110573
    Report This User

    Brad Pitt was so good in Babel that I have to ask him why he is fooling around so much as an actor in this film? Is he angry with someone and showing his disrespect for the film industry by intimating that he can throw a film and still remain a star in the business? . After seeing this film and wondering what Pitt is doing, I wonder if I will ever attend a Brad Pitt film again. The food eating and spitting....is this for real??? The flinging or furniture without any emotion behind it....Is this for real? And the simple walking and taling and glancing....an exhibition of imitating Marlon Brando\'s simplicity and understatement....Does he really expect to keep an audience with such a lack of thought behind his performance? Brad, I am trying to maintain my respect for you as an actor...but I am starting to think you are merely a Celebrity....Something Willy Loman wants to be. Reinventing baseball? I think Brad should start serioulsy thinking about being a real actor who is serious about his craft. Start reiventing yourself as an actor Brad...and you will earn the honor of staying on the silver screen. One more bomb like this and I swear never to pay to see your work again....and I probably will ignore your videos at the public libraries as well...even if they are free.. You have a license ....don\'t abuse it!

  • February 07, 2012 joyceand
    Report This User

    This was a big disappointment for me. I\'m an avid baseball fan and I know about Bill James\' philosophy and that it was implemented with the Oakland A\'s. I also fthought that Brad Pitt was wooden, showed me nothing memorable about Billy Beane.

  • January 31, 2012 jamjam2993
    Report This User

    i thought it was a good movie- far from great- Pitt did a nice job but nothing that 100 other actors couldnt do

  • January 24, 2012 javster0115
    Report This User

    as a baseball and sports fan, this movie is just great, saw it once but i\'m probably going to watch it again online, i use ThatFreeMovoieSite.com to watch my movies.

  • January 14, 2012 rinconmd
    Report This User

    Worth going to see now that it's on PPV. Goood movie

  • January 10, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Not what I was expecting, fortunately. From an entertainment aspect, one of the best movies of 2011. Of course, you have to have a an appreciation for \"inside baseball\" to really appreciate the film. Maybe Pitt\'s best \"acting\" roles. Keep in mind that 80% of the \"actors\" aren\'t actors, but, it doesn\'t detract from the story.

  • December 03, 2011 ew00000000107172
    Report This User

    Great great movie! The chemistry and/or tension between the actors is palpable. Captured the essence of the both the Michael Lewis book and the human interest story. Brad has moments of stillness and thoughtfulness that very much suits the character. The actors portraying the Oakland team are excellent, as well. Recommend to everyone, whether you\'re a baseball fan or not.

`

similar movies

  • Invictus (2009)

  • Miracle (2004)

  • Sugar (2008)

  • Hoosiers (1986)

  • 42 (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X