Skip to main content

reviews

53
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 69 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    What this Robin Hood lacks in fun it makes up for in epic sweep. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Scott removed the adventure aspect, and some of the movie's passion was lost, too, like a dolphin caught in a tuna net. Perhaps it's for that reason that a movie that starts out with the potential to be great somehow falls short, and what seems as if it's going to be a revelation ends up, instead, simply a worthwhile, reasonably interesting variation on an old theme. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Cate Blanchett brings little but an arch toughness to the role of Marion, and, in a highly improbably climactic scene, proves herself a veritable knight. Crowe and Blanchett share a perfunctory romance, with few sparks. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    He's (Crowe) thwarted by the production's almost total, and truly absurd, absence of fun. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Scott's reimagining of the legend of Robin Hood has more heft than it does humor, more soulful brooding than snappy thrust-and-parry retorts. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The problem with Russell Crowe's new take on the legend is that it has one muddy boot in history and the other in fantasy. The middling result is far from a bull's-eye. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Scott has an eye -- and it's a very good one -- for sieges of castles, charging horsemen, hand-to-hand combat, glistening swords arcing through the air and deadly arrows whistling toward helpless targets. show more

  • 35
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    A moneygrubbing extravaganza, ugly to look at and interminable to sit through. No movie about the evils of excessive taxation should be this taxing. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Head and shoulders above the sort of lightheaded epics Hollywood typically offers during the summer season. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Every era gets the Robin Hood it needs…Now director Ridley Scott and writer Brian Helgeland have given us an intelligent, layered story suited to our grim, patience-trying times. show more

  • August 07, 2011 hallock825551
    Report This User

    I was never a fan of Kevin Costners Robin Hood and asumed this would be as unsatisfing as that movie was. I was wrong. Robin Hood before the legand in this picture grabbed me from the very beginning and didn\'t let go through the entire movie. If you have a chance watch the Directors Cut of this movie on DVD. It actually was some of the best scenes and it\'s ashamed it was cut from the released version. It ties up some loose ends in the movie as well. The movie does stray from historical fact, but was enjoyable all the same.

  • May 22, 2011 cathrynanne1952
    Report This User

    Loved this movie---it has everything I look for in a period action/adventure piece!! First-rate casting and acting with a larger-than-life hero because he is an honest and moral man, a strong, beautiful and brave heroine, and a strong supporting cast including love-to-hate villians, Interesting plot, a story line that flows without bottoming out, exciting, well-shot battle scenes, romance with some sexual tension between Crowe and Blanchett. And did I mention the hero?? Russell Crowe without a shirt is something to behold!! This one goes in the home DVD collection to be watched again and again!!!

  • April 14, 2011 tking281
    Report This User

    Dont expect a repackaging of Gladiator.This could have been a good movie. I gave it a chance but turned it off in disgust after wasting an hour of my life. Script writers must have spent about the same amount of time ( 1Hour). Childishishness combined with extreme violence. The writers seemed to enjoy spotlighting the church coruption at every turn.

  • February 03, 2011 Piper Will
    Report This User

    In spite of the excellent cast, and cinematography, this move was ruined for me from a historical perspective. There were many historical inaccuracies, but then I'm used to that from Hollywood. The main issue for me was the trotting out of the tired old theme that the poor, peaceful Muslims, including children and a woman who "looked into his eyes with pity" as she was being slain, were the victims, and the evil Christian knights were the aggresors, pillaging and defiling all with whom they came in contact. Islam was and is, totally aggresive and has clearly stated its objectives throughout the centuries by both word and deed. The depiction of England as a ruthless nation being lead by ninnies, an evil Christian church and ego mad sociopaths, is only part and parcel of the ongoing assault on Western History and Culture, and I was sad to see such excellent actors being a part of that. The abuses of the King and church lead to fantastic advancements in government and science that as benefited the free world because their own people showed the way to hold leaders accountable through the Magna Carta, Proclamation of Arborath and the Reformation. Now if we could only get rid of our own taxing, corrupt statists in office, we'd all be a lot better off.

  • December 31, 2010 Lee Burnham
    Report This User

    The best example ever of how stupid screen writers can be. Kind Richard died on Crusade? Robin's father (a stone mason) wrote the Magna Carta? Please. This is ************ with the sound off.

  • December 28, 2010 &
    Report This User

    WHAT AN AMAZING ADVENTURE! IF YOU LOVE THE ROBIN HOOD STORY, YOU WILL LOVE IT MORE WITH THIS AWESOME MOVIE. THE CINEMATOGRAPHY IS INCREDIBLE. THE REALISM OF THE TIME PERIOD REALLY BRINGS TO MIND HOW DIFFICULT LIFE REALLY WAS FOR THE COMMON PERSON. IT IS NOT THE ERROL FLYNN MOVIES OF THE PAST... YOU SEE THE RUSHES ON THE FLOOR IN THE CASTLE, AND ANCIENT FEEL OF ENGLAND. RUSSELL CROWE IS AMAZING IN THIS MOVIE.... HE REALLY HAS WORKED OUT FOR THIS MOVIE...

  • October 18, 2010 rikrubin
    Report This User

    rusty delivers, as always. great cast, great story (prequel to the real robin hood story we all know) and good acting.

  • September 27, 2010 rdrgzbrm
    Report This User

    i like this one but i was expecting a little more.

  • September 23, 2010 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Great movie! First, you must understand that rather the Robin Hood story we are all familiar with this story picks up on the journey home from the crusades, and ends just as Robin is declared an outlaw by King John. I will admit that Russell Crowe is my favorite actor, and Kate Blanchet is my favorite actress, but the acting was spot on across the entire cast. My only negative is that though Robin Hood is, of course, legend, I would have liked it much more had the weaponary been a little more historically accurate. The long bow took extradrodinary strength to draw; not a weapon for the lady folk. There was "landing craft" used that looked like the LSTs used to invade Normandy on D-Day. Otherwise excellent!

  • September 10, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    First of all, nothing is known of the real Robin Hood - he is just a legend with no established basis in reality though some have speculated who he might have been. This means that any version is free to tell the story in any manner they wish, and this version differs from all previous ones. This is part one of an epic movie, produced on a grand scale, and is skillfully crafted in all departments. For me, this is the definitive version and I very much look forward to seeing part two.

`

similar movies

  • Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (2003)

  • The Lion in Winter (1968)

  • Pompeii (2014)

  • The Three Musketeers (2011)

  • Clash of the Titans (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X