Skip to main content

reviews

83
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 227 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A burst of pure filmmaking exhilaration that manages to pay homage to the classic 1960s TV series and still boldly go where no man, William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy included, has gone before. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    At its best, the effect is like seeing life panoramically, past and future, simultaneous and magnificent. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    When it comes to sheer spectacle, Star Trek, as re-imagined by J.J. Abrams, delivers. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Star Trek goes back to the legend's roots with a boldness that brings a fatigued franchise back to life. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The result is more exciting than the last four ST pictures put together, more fun than a barrel of Tribbles, and the most satisfying action-adventure since last year's "Iron Man." show more

  • 100
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The new Star Trek is more than a coat of paint on a space-age wagon train. It's an exciting, stellar-yet-earthy blast that successfully blends the hip and the classic. show more

  • 100
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    Paced at warp speed with spectacular action sequences rendered brilliantly and with a cast so expert that all the familiar characters are instantly identifiable. show more

  • 90
    Bob Mondello NPR

    It's hard to imagine anyone caring much why we're plunging ahead at warp speed, when the ride is so insanely satisfying. show more

  • 100
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    In the pop high it delivers, this is the greatest prequel ever made. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Vigorously played as a young man by Chris Pine, Kirk is a brilliant, sports-car driving, bar-brawling rebel who is finally shamed into joining Starfleet Academy. show more

  • July 29, 2011 uj00000000097480
    Report This User

    I am not big star trek fan but this movie was action packed and I very much enjoyed it.

  • May 07, 2011 suds57
    Report This User

    There were a few Star Trek movies i enjoyed...Voyage Home being one of them. This newest addition was by far the best. I loved all of the actors who portrayed the original characters. I truly hope there will be more with the same actors.

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    Super great movie! Casting director did an AMAZING job with this cast :-) all the characters match perfectly with the original. and the movie was really awesome!

  • April 12, 2011 tonydch
    Report This User

    Truely an amazing rewrite of the Star Trek Legacy. This exciting film gives a rebirth and renews the possibility of Trek to re-explore the universe and re-meet the various alien cultures in a whole new light. I hope to see many, many sequels to this one!

  • December 29, 2010 Weston
    Report This User

    loved it

  • December 29, 2010 kairp1
    Report This User

    Amazing!!!! The story was so amazing my good friend Alex Kurtzman did an amazing job with the script. The acting was amazing. Also the music was great. Star Trek is definitely a must see.

  • August 04, 2010 andypoek
    Report This User

    J.J. Abrams asked the questions of his creative staff when he began this Star Trek movie odyssey, Can we make it cool? and How can we make it for everyone? He certainly answered the first question in the decidedly affirmative and accomplished the second query when he created this marvelous film. The acting is incredible with actors that have the same magical chemistry working together that the cast of the original Star Trek series had. Zachary Quinto and Chris Pine are perfect mirror images in both demeanor and appearance of Leonard Nimoy and William Shatner playing the starring roles of Spock and Captain James T. Kirk respectively. I was particularly impressed with the versatility of Zachary Quinto's acting skills, because Spock in this film is a vastly different character than the one I have enjoyed seeing him play in the television series Heroes where he is the unpredictable villain-turned-hero Sylar. The rest of the talented cast members do not disappoint either. The second disk in this set is fascinating. It includes deleted scenes which I would love to see eventually incorporated into the film. While they were not absolutely necessary, those scenes added meaning to the storyline of the movie. There are also wonderful interviews and some behind-the-scenes peeks into the creative process of producing this film. There is a casting feature that gives us an insightful look into the complicated process of finding the talented actors willing to make the attempt to fill some big shoes and emulate the iconic actors that started the Star Trek phenomenon. What I loved most was the direction that J.J. Abrams took in developing this new Star Trek adventure. I have been a Star Trek fan since the original series first aired in 1966 when I was 10 years old. My mother, father, brother and I all watched it together as a family every week when each new episode aired. I have seen every episode of all five of the series created for television as well as all eleven now of the movies produced for the silver screen. I was only sad that they did not produce a movie to conclude Star Trek: Voyager with Chakotay marrying Seven-of-Nine. Oh, well! I was devastated, however, when the television producers called it quits after Star Trek: Enterprise. It was my great joy, however, to see J.J. Abrams bypass the problems associated with prequel productions by inventing an alternate time-line for the original Star Trek storyline in this movie. That brilliant maneuver made it possible to create an entirely new and different story while still maintaining the spirit of the original show along with the development of the characters and their relationships with one another. It also leaves the creators with limitless freedom to come up with more new stories. I truly hope that they will not stop with this movie and will go on to give us more Star Trek in series form on television. I and my children have grown up with Star Trek, and I would love to see my grandchildren do so as wel

  • May 31, 2010 Chrr43
    Report This User

    one of the best movies of 09(my personal favorite) didn't get reconized at the oscars, dindn't even get a nomination. it should've got nominated for best picture, best screenplay,best adapted screenplay, best visual effects ,and in a year where supporting cast performances were weak zachary Quintin and leonard nimoy should have been nominated for an oscars . after that i 've stop watching the oscars. it's screwed up badly before but now this is just villinious

  • April 12, 2010 dannylombara
    Report This User

    Holy ****. This movie rocked!

  • January 15, 2010 gymnastglenn15
    Report This User

    I for sure didn't waste my money watching this movie. It was fantastic!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X