Skip to main content

reviews

18
Based on 19 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 56 )
  • NA
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The Devil Inside manages not only to scrape the barrel's bottom but to drill a hole in said bottom and funnel deeper into the scum. show more

  • 30
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Never gets off the ground, trotting out the same predictable twisting heads and psycho-babble without a whiff of originality or discernible visual flair. As a result, the would-be thriller proves as scary and unsettling as a slab of devil's food cake - only considerably less satisfying. show more

  • 40
    Movieline

    The reality of The Devil Inside is that it's a half-hearted patchwork of ideas blatantly lifted from better films, with characters who have to act increasingly foolish in order to allow the action to go forward and an ending so anticlimactic and abrupt that the audience at the screening I attended erupted in enraged boos as the credits rolled. show more

  • 50
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    All hell breaks loose and it's a heck of a lot of fun to watch. show more

  • 38
    Slant Magazine

    The film's contradictory and nullifying dilemma of wanting to be both scripted and vérité at once, a plight that affects so much contemporary TV, is temporarily quelled in heated scenes of curse-laden levitation and Linda Blair contortion, which dutifully deliver the scares. show more

  • 25
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The Devil Inside joins a long, woozy-camera parade of found-footage scare pictures, among them "The Blair Witch Project," the "Paranormal Activity" films and certain wedding videos that won't go away. show more

  • 25
    Washington Post

    It's a pestilence of infectious claptrap. show more

  • NA
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    No one onscreen was actor enough to make us believe we were watching actual people commit or require actual exorcisms. show more

  • 40
    William Thomas Empire

    Even with The Exorcist in the world, there is still scope for a contemporary, shocking and thrilling film to be made on the subject of possession. But this is not it: some found footage should really just stay lost. show more

  • 40
    Time Out New York

    Whatever possessed Bell & Co. to turn a slow-burning creepfest into a frenzied freak show of multiple exorcisms (including one in a moving car), the devil only knows. show more

  • December 29, 2013 bj00000000172089
    Report This User

    I don\'t know what everyone\'s talking about... I really liked this movie! It was just the kind of movie I expected.

  • December 22, 2012 yl00000000102243
    Report This User

    See This Movie at FLY27 COM

  • February 19, 2012 fw00000000113884
    Report This User

    Demons are the most evil “beings” in this world; therefore, trying to make demons scarier than their nature as William Brent Bell tried in “The Devil Inside,” inevitably belittles demons to children’s imaginary monsters that hide in their closets. The plot happens after the murders of three exorcists who were murdered by Maria Rossi (Suzan Crowley), and the police transferred her to a mental hospital in Italy. Twenty years later Rossi’s daughter Isabella (Fernanda Andrade) travels to Italy and hires two exorcists to determine if her mother was mentally ill or demon possessed. The documentary filming is merely a slightly more invested film than Paranormal Activity. The most scary scene of the movie has nothing to do with demons. As Isabella and the two exorcists were walking down a sidewalk, a dog abruptly jumps at the gate in a loud bark, and that scene wouldn’t have been so scary if it weren\'t for the loudness of the theatre sound. Scott Derrickson made viewers feel sympathy in “Emily Rose.” An innocent young woman who suffered demonic possession, and ultimately sacrificed an instant ticket to heaven so her story can be told. I felt no sympathy for Rossi. Either the character was written badly or the character had an amateur actor. If Rossi got shot in the face and the movie ended at that scene, I would have felt relieved. Instead, we get an incomplete ending that’ll leave you thinking, “WTF.” If “The Devil Inside” portrays demons at their best, then Christians can ease up on their praying

  • February 09, 2012 LAURA
    Report This User

    only thing horrible about this movie is that it just horribly sucked.. don\'t waste your money renting this movie when it comes out on dvd.

  • February 03, 2012 sw00000000111605
    Report This User

    This was one of the cheesiest most disappointing movies ever... they showed all the highlights/decent parts in the previews, got the viewers hopes up and totally disappointed everybody. This movies was a HUGE BOMB... Awful. Never been so disappointed in a movie. DO ********* THIS, its a waste of time and money.

  • February 01, 2012 llfeat2
    Report This User

    Heard it was terrible. Haven\'t heard one good thing about it. I\'d rather get my teeth pulled then spend $14 dollars on a terrible movie.

  • January 22, 2012 le00000000110062
    Report This User

    This movie SUCKS! Shaky \"real life\" camera shots gave me a severe case of nausea (ala \"Blair Witch Project\") and I left halfway through the movie. This is the kind of nausea that makes your eyes crossed and gives you a mean headache...didn\'t go away until I slept it off. I seriously wish I could SUE the producers for WASTING MY TIME with such a lousy movie production. Go ahead and watch it if you want to walk away with a bad headache...THAT\'S the only think horrific about this Exorcist-wannabe movie.

  • January 19, 2012 rbaker9317
    Report This User

    i\'m interested...

  • January 16, 2012 waitandbleedtn4
    Report This User

    Basically a phony doc movie for grade schoolers. Just awful.

  • January 15, 2012 ml00000000110552
    Report This User

    Dont wast your time and money, We did, we got up to leave, when someone told us it will get better. But It didnt .it was subpost to be a thriller, but I guess thay dont know what a thriller really is, bad movie,Dont go, Dont go, DONT GO!!!!.

`

similar movies

  • The Rite (2011)

  • The Last Exorcism (2010)

  • The Exorcism of Emily Rose (2005)

  • The Orphanage (2007)

  • The Exorcist (1973)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X