Skip to main content

reviews

36
Based on 13 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 40 )
  • 40
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Sacrifices the quietly creepy qualities of the original in favor of ramped-up horror film techniques that by now seem distressingly familiar. show more

  • 63
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    A quirkily efficient genre exercise that knows exactly where and when to administer its cattle-prod shivers. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The most vivid aspect of The Eye is its poster image, that of a huge female eye with a human hand gripping the lower lid from the inside. The least vivid aspect is the way Jessica Alba delivers a simple line of expository dialogue. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Their movie is watchable - never more gratuitously so than when Alba is filmed showering and slipping into a tank top. But we've been here before, no? show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Unfortunately, the final act (the Mexico sequences) illustrate where to take a ghost story if you want to exchange old-fashioned horror for a grilled cheese sandwich. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    It's hard to know who bears the brunt of the blame for The Eye's stunning dullness. show more

  • 38
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    A tediously noisesome English-language remake of an Asian horror picture that wasn't any great shakes to begin with. show more

  • 20
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    Most unforgivably, this Eye culminates not with the mounting dread and spectacular tragedy of the original film's decidedly downbeat vision, but with the trademark LASIK laziness of Hollywood's stylistically blank remake factory. show more

  • 50
    Entertainment Weekly

    It's as if, on the umpteenth Asian-horror Xerox, the ink has run dry. show more

  • 50
    Dennis Harvey Variety

    This slick effort is effectively creepsome until it bogs down somewhat in plot explication. show more

  • April 21, 2011 kairp1
    Report This User

    It was pretty good I liked it!

  • September 08, 2008 daniegross0502
    Report This User

    it sucked so much. what a slow movie

  • May 22, 2008 BCleggsRus
    Report This User

    the first 3/4 of the movie was ok but it sucked but the ending was the part that made this movie AWESOME!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 summer815
    Report This User

    OMG! its awsome! luv it!!!! its scary as hell! great job jessica alba! but the sound- they over did it too much! but its exciting....:)

  • May 22, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    The Eye is the story of a talented violinist who has just had her sight restored by surgery after a being blind for most of her life. However, she gets something else besides her vision. She now sees dead people and horrific events. To read my full review go to johnhuntspace.com

  • May 22, 2008 nitewatcher21
    Report This User

    It's Jessica alba at her best......It's a very intresting movie and the end is really good. I liked this movie alot

  • May 22, 2008 firemoon66
    Report This User

    Jessica Alba did great in this movie. I thought it was very creepy and I like it a lot. Good story and a nice ending.

  • May 22, 2008 club18hopper
    Report This User

    This movie was tight ok there was no problem w/ it at all the ending scene was the best and Jessica Alba was great in some scenes and ok in orthers but she's a great actress so i'm pretty sure she thought thats how she would respond if it really happend to her so thats how she did it (The Movie Was The Best Ever)

  • May 22, 2008 catchinsum350zs
    Report This User

    this movie was the worst i had i ever seen! It was like alba was drunk. wat was the deal

  • May 22, 2008 bilpet
    Report This User

    This movie was one of the worst movies.I wanted to go blind .Walked out a few times to see what else was playing at the same venue. Couldn't take anymore so i left. Not worth your money or time.--------------------Bill-----1/2 star

`

similar movies

  • The Others (2001)

  • The Grudge (2004)

  • The Haunting in Connecticut (2009)

  • Drag Me to Hell (2009)

  • The Messengers (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X