Skip to main content

reviews

86
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 58 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The actors are to die for. Bening and Moore nail every nuance of a relationship going adrift. And Ruffalo is dynamite as a man keeping himself at a distance. Kids makes its own special magic. It's irresistible show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Like her (Cholodenko) other movies, this one has vivid characters and strong performances and flows like a slice of life set in an appealing, interesting world. But this one also has a good story and, if you're paying attention, a distinct point of view. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This gem features five topnotch, multidimensional performances in one of this summer's most engaging films. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A thrillingly funny and casually profound film. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Here are five gifted actors at the top of their games as five characters in search of what makes a family. show more

  • 100
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Every scene has its highlights, from amusing observations about sex to poignant truths about parenting and partnerships. But what you'll remember most is the exquisitely lovely final scene, in which Cholodenko reminds us that all we need is a single moment of perfection -in a family, or even in a film - to believe that somehow, things will always be all right. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    This love letter to gay-marriage supporters is respectably entertaining filmmaking, it's just not exceptional. show more

  • 90
    Ella Taylor NPR

    It's a classic Hollywood domestic comedy with a mischievous twist. show more

  • 95
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    More universal than it is alternative, except in one sense: There's nothing else on the contemporary movie landscape like it. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    "All right" doesn't begin to describe it. The Kids Are All Right is wonderful. Here is a film that respects and enjoys all of its characters, the give-and-take and recklessness and wisdom of any functioning family unit, conventional or un-. show more

  • March 12, 2011 sarabunio
    Report This User

    It's not often you find a movie around a lesbian couple and their family that actually has big movie stars in it that actually makes it to the big screen. I thought it was a very well acted and real movie. I notice that some reviews here talk about how the sex scenes are uncomfortable. I wonder about that a lot seeing how many movies have sex in them...the only difference is that in this one you see both heterosexual and lesbian sex. Hope we continue to see more movies that portray lesbian and gay stories more on the big screen. well done.

  • January 18, 2011 colliekel
    Report This User

    This movie sucked!!!!

  • September 13, 2010 anmlvolunteer
    Report This User

    Julianne Moore was just AWFUL in this. I found her totally unbelievable, and her performance made me feel really uncomfortable. Annette Bening, on the other hand, was VERY good. And bravo! for having the guts to do a Hollywood film with no make-up. Unfortunately, Bening's performance is the only thing remotely worthy in this film. Don't waste your money ... wait till it comes out on cable or Comcast On Demand ...

  • September 04, 2010 ocat512
    Report This User

    I thoroughly enjoyed this well acted sensitive natured movie alot.I thought the acting was superb, funny at times but also tugging at your heart.Good story with meaning, and probably one of the better movies I have seen this year.

  • August 29, 2010 mzorstar
    Report This User

    Am I the only one who thinks that every single negative review (even the ones that don't explicitly refer to purported family values) are completely politicized? It seems clear that there are a number of people on the right who see it as a political duty to denigrate this film by giving it poor reviews. I've never seen a movie so criticized for sex. I watched it last night with my wife and found it very touching, more a commentary on marriage and kids than anything lesbian. I didn't especially empathize with the lesbians, actually found them quite annoying, but annoying in the same way most middle aged yuppie couples are.

  • August 29, 2010 Linda
    Report This User

    I appreciated the sensitive story, the sex was over the top. I felt uncomfortable.

  • August 26, 2010 SGIESE1227
    Report This User

    We should acknowledge that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people do what every other American tries to do. They want to pursue life, liberty, happiness, love and marry the person of their choice, go to work without fear of being fired, have access to health benefits and hospital visitation rights. And, like their straight friends, they also want to create families. There are 1 million lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender parents raising about 2 million children in the U.S., according to figures analyzed by UCLA's Williams Institute. Good parents are good parents, no matter their sexual orientation. The Child Welfare League of America, in the business of protecting children since 1920, has been unequivocal: "Any attempt to preclude or prevent gay, lesbian, and bisexual individuals or couples from parenting, based solely on their sexual orientation, is not in the best interest of children." The National Adoption Center, American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Medical Association agree. Thirty years of research says the same, including a new 17-year study published this month in Pediatrics, the official journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics, concluding that children raised by lesbian parents do better academically, are more confident than their peers and have fewer behavioral problems. Yet critics still dismiss what child welfare experts say. The state of Florida, which bans adoptions by gay people, believes Martin Gill is an unfit parent. The state is refusing to allow Gill, who is gay, to adopt the two brothers he has been loving as a foster parent for more than five years. (Florida's ban has been kept in place since 1977 with the help of testimony from now discredited and disgraced George Rekers, an anti-gay rights activist ************ toured Europe with a male escort and who has been the star witness for the small but vocal group of anti-gay adoption activists. Florida testimony also invoked the writings of Dr. Paul Cameron, another anti-gay adoption "expert" whose credibility has been recently decimated: He was dropped from the American Psychological Association for failing to cooperate with an ethics investigation and censured by the American Sociological Association, which condemned him for misrepresention of sociologial research.) Foster children need loving parents and stable homes. Many of the 120,000 kids that the Department of Health and Human Services says are in the foster care system, up for adoption, could have permanent homes if gay people could adopt them.

  • August 21, 2010 kjoe
    Report This User

    the movie is a movie, not America...great film...a rare quality gem.... I am a straight guy and I thought it was very intelligent

  • August 19, 2010 Pumpkinspice333
    Report This User

    This was the best movie I have seen in a long time. I laughed so hard I cried! The audience was in stitches as well. I sat next to a woman who must have been in her 70's. She clearly had an open mind because she loved it! The characters were played so well by the cast. And I appreciated the movie portraying a lesbian couple and family! How refreshing! While I am not gay, I sure hope we have more opportuntiies to see movies portraying all types of families, lesbian, gay male couples and my category...single mother.

  • August 16, 2010 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    This movie is yet another sad commentary on America's deteriorating values.I both liked and was,almost at the same time disgusted by the film. Does that mean it is a good movie? Thought provocing, at least! I liked it because,perhaps unintentionally it showed how ridiculous it is to assume that a lesbian couple can function as well for children as can a traditonal heteroexual marriage.. Mostly out of selfishness and anger, Bening+Moore are a middle aged lesbian couple who "had children" through articial insemination;a random (except for a two page profile) sperm donor. The children are now 15(boy) and18(girl). Both children are much more mature than their moms,although they are understandably confused. The childeren's curiousity gets the best of them and they locate their sperm-donor dad, who lives close by. At first the boy and girl seem to get along with random sperm donor,but later when sperm donor has sexual affair with Moore,is where the real confusion starts. Bening, betrayed, asks Moore " Are you still gay?" That's confusing because I thought people were born gay (or not) ! Can they"switch"back and forth? Moore seems to really "enjoy"her fling with dad-- at least the sex! . Utter betrayal,I guess.So much for being born with a sexual preference ! Yet,Bening appears surprised by Moore's esciapdes despite the fact both ladies are turned on by gay homosexual male porn! Hard to understand what the"family"now expects from spremdad, after learning of his romps with Moore. Before,they were trying to accept dad;now he's evil.Perhaps the height of absurdity comes when Bening- angrily confronts sperm dad saying "If you wants a family,you should start his own!" A couple of scenes before,I thought it was his family! I guess only his sperm. Now I'm confused;I admit it. Lesbians get to make up the rules. So much confusion and so much silliness- -it does underscore fallacy that two moms = dad + mom. In the end, I cannot help but feel great sorrow and empathy for anyone(especially children) trapped in such a lifestyle by their poor and uninformed choices. Being a parent means it's no longer only "Just about you.". Lesbians have no business pretending they are the same as hetero couples; to so pretend is to simply deny the most obvious of realities. Doesn't a child deserve a father and a mother ? Or, are men simply irrelevant except for their sperm?

`

similar movies

  • Mother and Child (2009)

  • The Squid and the Whale (2005)

  • Running With Scissors (2006)

  • Chasing Amy (1997)

  • Geography Club (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X