Skip to main content

reviews

56
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 33 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Matthew Michael Carnahan's caffeinated script isn't much concerned with balance, but it gets some anyway, from the resonant images of culture clash that Berg catches on the fly and a remarkable performance from Ashraf Barhom. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The opening is spectacular, but the rest is fairly routine. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Director Peter Berg's frenetic style heightens tension and a sense of disorientation. But some will find its chaotic quality dizzying and off-putting. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The Kingdom comes down to a police procedural, and one whose procedures prove none too interesting. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Ultimately, this jingo-bingo action thriller squarely hits its target, then delivers a delayed-action message contrary to everything that has preceded it. Berg heroizes the plucky Americans, but in the closing scenes of his ripping action flick, sucker-punches them. It's as if this populist Syriana frags itself. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Berg has an excellent eye for violent extravaganza and the action - especially a 10-15 minute set piece midway through - is as cleansing as a high colonic. show more

  • 60
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Berg's movie is no more than an action movie with an exotic backdrop. That would be fine, if only the movie were more exciting. It succeeds neither as a pointed political commentary nor as a taut thriller. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Though its violence is searing and brutal, the film, about four FBI agents investigating a terrorist attack in Saudi Arabia, shows a conscience and a brain, and if it explains things a bit simplistically at times, so much the better. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Overall, the film is smart and engaging, and if it plays a little on our fears of the next big terrorist attack, it does so without feeling exploitative. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Director Peter Berg and first-time writer Matthew Michael Carnahan do a smooth, efficient job of storytelling most of the way. show more

  • September 09, 2009 AHMEDRMDAN
    Report This User

    THINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNK FOR YOU

  • May 22, 2008 ftraver
    Report This User

    There is a little for everyone in this film as long as you keep an open mind. I will never look at an old beat up tea pot in the same way after his thoughts.

  • May 22, 2008 rjjacksonpgi
    Report This User

    THIS DVD IS EXCELLENT!MANSON'S THE

  • May 22, 2008 janet
    Report This User

    Jennifer Garner was terrible in this movie. She can't act. It was so boring I kept hoping it would just be over.

  • May 22, 2008 pearlmuadib
    Report This User

    All I have to say is that this was a Great Film!! It had everything I look for in a in a film!

  • May 22, 2008 aceman14613
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. The first 10 minutes and the last few ines really make you think about how fu!@ed up this whole problem really is.I think its a must see.

  • May 22, 2008 smartstrategies1
    Report This User

    Not only was the movie totally unsuspensful, and a car ********** wasted the talents of its stars. Jennifer Gardner was a shadow of her Alias fame, Chris Cooper was fine, but very restrained, and Jamie Foxx, come on, does any CIA operative talk like he just stepped out of the Ghetto? This proves Jamie Foxx is NOT an action hero. I thought it was a suspense film, not a farce. And the noise! Not since Armageddon was there such deafening sound without half the creative effort. What was Berg and the cast thinking? Did anyone see Munich and learn what suspense action thrillers are really like? .

  • May 22, 2008 Lena
    Report This User

    This movie was hilarious. It is rated R for a reason and if you don't want to see any sex and nudity then this movie is not for you, otherwise, you will find this to be very funny. My husband and I went to see this movie and loved it.

  • May 22, 2008 nyjetsno12
    Report This User

    I found the movie to be boring for the most part. There's enough of this going on in the world, so seeing this movie was like watching a CNN documentary. If the director wanted to make an action flick, he could have used his imagination and come up with some really good stuff. We don't need to see extended, incredibly violent news clips on the big screen. Oh, and Jamie Foxx, completely miscast, as an FBI Special Agent? I can't believe they let him speak the words, "we was." I doubt that was in the script. If you want to see some good, old-fashioned killing, just pop (sneak) into the theatre for the last 20 minutes (after you're done watching another GOOD movie). It's the only part actually worth seeing -- that is, of course, if you are into watching dozens of people getting executed...

  • May 22, 2008 snwbored2ooo
    Report This User

    this movie blows!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X