Skip to main content

reviews

32
Based on 22 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    May be far from perfect, but the big question is why you're sitting in a movie theater watching it instead of cuddling up at home with the remote in one hand and a steaming toddy in the other. show more

  • 25
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Sappy script. Cheesy supernaturalism. Tired satire. show more

  • 38
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If you're really hoping for a perfect holiday, steer clear of this stale fruitcake of a comedy. show more

  • 40
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    If "This Christmas" served up a crowd-pleasing portion of yuletide "Soul Food," then The Perfect Holiday offers dried-out leftovers. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    There's not much original about the film, but it's played with high spirits and good cheer, there are lots of musical interludes, and it's pitched straight at families. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Strives to be nothing more than easygoing and heartwarming. show more

  • 50
    Premiere

    An inoffensive piece of seasonal movie-muzak. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    For a family-friendly holiday comedy, it's still coarse, formulaic and occasionally just plain weird. show more

  • 25
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Most of the comedy comes from dull situations like a fat guy trying to put on a fat suit for no reason. show more

  • 12
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    A lot like getting socks for Christmas: Better than finding coal in your stocking but not exactly as thrilling as unwrapping a big-screen HDTV. show more

  • February 26, 2010 EMPRESSAFIYA1000
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE WAS REALLY GOOD QUEEN LATIFAH AND THAT OTHER GUY WAS FUNNY , I LOVE GABRIELLE UNION BUT A COUPLE MONTHS AGO I FOUND OUT SHE WAS A PORN STAR THAT CHANGED THE WAY I THOUGHT OF HER BUT I STILL LIKE HER........... IN A GIRLY WAY

  • May 22, 2008 Doris
    Report This User

    i expected more from this cast. i haven't been this dissappointed in a movie in a long time. the story was weak, the plot very predictable and it was not funny at all. the director should share some of the blame and i was surprised that terrance howard would accept this role. maybe all involved should have watched it in a movie theater and then they might have made the decision not to release it.

  • May 22, 2008 jaesassy
    Report This User

    This was a nice family movie. I mean it was not the best movie I agree. However it was very refreshing.

  • May 22, 2008 phtdrea
    Report This User

    This movie shocked me. I had NO desire to see it and I went anyway with some friends and I loved it! Morris was handsome as always. I enjoyed the plot of the movie. It had a very good meaning and the obstacles that happen in the movie, we face everyday in real life. Great holiday film... Go see it!

  • May 22, 2008 dbenj104500
    Report This User

    cute and pleasant with likable characters. WHAT DO THESE REVIEWERS WANT?

  • May 22, 2008 geoffreygovan
    Report This User

    A great Christmas movie, Young Malik Hammond is fabulous. Go just to hear Charlie Murphy TRY to sing.

  • May 22, 2008 dirteminded82
    Report This User

    horribly sappy. i would say its a family film if not for the fact alotta the funnier jokes would go over a kids head. seemed like a half assed chick flick to me. i wouldnt care to see it again. even the 'merry christmas' at the end seemed alittle fake and drenched in effort. id say this movie is good for when u've just finished holiday shopping and your brain is too tired to care that your watching every holiday cliche bearhugged into an hour and 30 minutes of nonsense.. call me a hater but this movie was ho ho horrible. i'd rather see Epic Movie when im completely sober. how do u go from Chicago to this? really

  • May 22, 2008 Janken4
    Report This User

    This isn't the best holiday movie out right now but it's pretty good. It's family friendly and heartwarming. It has some funny scenes too without being over the top. I liked Gabrielle Union and the guy who played her love interest. Her rapper, ex-husband was too annoying at times. The relationship between her boyfriend and her oldest son was very compelling. Overall, I enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to almost everybody.

  • May 22, 2008 Sherry
    Report This User

    This isn't the best holiday movie out right now but it's pretty good. It's family friendly and heartwarming. It has some funny scenes too without being over the top. I liked Gabrielle Union and the guy who played her love interest. Her rapper, ex-husband was too annoying at times. The relationship between her boyfriend and her oldest son was very compelling. Overall, I enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to almost everybody.

  • May 22, 2008 ccajack2
    Report This User

    I never heard of this albulm, but I def. have to get it, lol!!!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X