Skip to main content

reviews

46
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 26 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Cage and Baruchel work hard to stay accessible, but the computer-generated effects come on like heavy artillery blowing away any hint of flesh and blood. The Sorcerer's Apprentice should be rated U for Untouched by Human Hands. show more

  • 75
    Walter Addiego San Francisco Chronicle

    The Sorcerer's Apprentice boils down to "The Karate Kid" meets "Harry Potter," with maybe a dash of "Ghostbusters" to keep it interesting. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The movie is a clunky, noisy contraption. Director Jon Turteltaub piles on gadgets and devices in the hopes we'll be dazzled enough to miss the story's lack of coherence and charm. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    On the whole, the movie is more Cheez Whiz than wizardly. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A frenetic, overstuffed but imaginative fantasy. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    "Apprentice" lurches from one been-there-done-that sequence to another. show more

  • 50
    Scott Tobias NPR

    The lesson at the core of Goethe's poem -- that powerful spirits are not to be taken lightly, and should only be conjured by those who can control them -- goes out the window, and the mentor-student relationship gets swallowed up in the action. Bruckheimer may be the dark lord of Tinseltown, but he's the Mickey Mouse of this scenario, and the mops and brooms get the best of him. show more

  • 65
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Turteltaub strives to show us realistic-looking magic, without realizing he'd be better off if he acknowledged that there's no such thing. Instead, we get human figures that emerge "magically" from swarms of cockroaches and sorceresses who dissolve into dust particles right before our eyes. It's the best CGI money can buy, and who cares? show more

  • 75
    St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    A tamer tale of supernatural shenanigans that is far more appropriate for young children than the sometimes too-scary scenes from J.K. Rowling's stories. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a perfectly typical example of its type, professionally made and competently acted. show more

  • June 14, 2011 welcome discotj
    Report This User

    Excellent! Jay Baruchel is very funny. A must see.

  • May 17, 2011 daryltexasex
    Report This User

    way out there five thumbs up

  • September 06, 2010 paul
    Report This User

    its a fun movie for the family. i was entertained with it and i think u will too.

  • August 09, 2010 zach16cu
    Report This User

    It is getting so bad on AOL Movie Reviews that their STAR Rating system is no longer a reliable guide of how . In movie after movie their are obvious plants from the movie studios who are giving rave reviews and 5 stars to even the worst of movies in order to make it seem that the General public strongly loves the movie. Phrases like 'Best movie ever made', 'Top movie of the summer', 'The most awesome movie ever made', etc. I'm not saying nobody enjoyed this movie, I'm sure some did, but 5 stars; come on, lets get real! I'm sure the movie studios would like everyone to watch their movies, but don't send people to provide false positive reviews.

  • August 07, 2010 Bunnyhop021
    Report This User

    very good movie i loved it

  • August 07, 2010 OTSTARs
    Report This User

    TopMovie of the Summer. Pure entertainment, romantic comedy and action!! I know im going to get bashed for my comments, but REALLY!!! its a movie you can take the kids and enjoy--ignore the critics and there politics---just enjoy the fun--Rock on!!! ThX for producing the movie!!!

  • August 06, 2010 robocop
    Report This User

    Wife and I saw trhe movie today and loved every minute. Nicholas Cage is superb. The special effects were stupendous. What more can I say except Two Great Big Thumbs Up.

  • August 06, 2010 Anthonysamb
    Report This User

    The story and action are good, but a bit unrealistic. The ending is *************** very entertaining. I would recommend it if you like fantasies.

  • August 01, 2010 bdyftns
    Report This User

    I read these reviews and have to wonder if it's the people who work at the movies who post them. This movie about put me to sleep. Poorly written, sad attempt at humor. I enjoy Nicolas Cage, but the kid who played the Geek was just plan annoying. He was horrible. Not a good movie. Save your money.

  • July 30, 2010 Apprentice311
    Report This User

    I went to see the movie and let me say it was the greatest movie I saw in my life. I have to admit it beat my favorite movie,Transformers, sov yeah it's my number one.

`

similar movies

  • Enchanted (2007)

  • Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow (2004)

  • Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013)

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian (2008)

  • Sky High (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X