Skip to main content

reviews

79
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A heartfelt human drama that sneaks up and floors you. show more

  • 100
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    The Visitor, is, if anything, more imaginative and touching than his first. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It is one of the year's most intriguing dramas, with a quartet of powerful performances. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The Visitor tells of renewal through love. Its song is tinged with sadness, but stirring all the same. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    At first glance Walter isn't a guy you want to spend two hours with. But by the end of the film, you don't want to see him go. Jenkins is like that: He sneaks up on you and steals your heart with light-fingered skill. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Both director and cast exhibit the dedication of those who truly believe in the message at hand. But with so much earnestness onscreen, the message occasionally gets in the way of the movie itself. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A compelling and illuminating story of four people who form an unlikely and momentary friendship of considerable depth. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Jenkins and The Visitor”make lovely music together. It’s a case of a veteran character actor slipping on a leading role like the most comfortable pair of pants in the world. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Best movie I've seen so far this year? Hands down, it's Tom McCarthy's superb The Visitor, which turns Richard Jenkins, one of the best character actors in the business, into a full-fledged star. show more

  • 88
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    McCarthy's flawless casting may be the film's greatest strength: Veteran character actor Jenkins and his costars vanish into their characters -- their performances are so subtle and unforced that they don't feel like performances at all. show more

  • December 05, 2011 dbeerle
    Report This User

    Poetry!!!!! Suberb movie....see it!

  • February 23, 2009 pe0ny13
    Report This User

    I loved this movie... right to the end. Then, I was supremely annoyed. I expected the main character to do something other than be a self-absorbed pig.

  • October 28, 2008 moryswife
    Report This User

    This is a very good movie. I caught the trailer a few months ago and I knew it was "I have to watch" this kind of movie. As a side note, when she says "real time, not arab time" was one of the funniest and truest statements I've heard

  • October 20, 2008 uramiumx
    Report This User

    Mr DrlHeart please take the movie from human perspective, it is a tragedy and reflects the fact

  • June 28, 2008 Summerprose
    Report This User

    This is a heartbreaking, joyful little gem of a movie. It will stay with you long after the credits roll. It's adult in the true meaning of the word. It deserves oscar nominations all four directions. You will smile in spite of your tears and you will be very glad to be one of the visitors.

  • June 26, 2008 driheart
    Report This User

    This silly pathetic movie promotes ilegal immigration and portrays negatively US gov. This is a soft propaganda movie where the radical salivate. The professional critics are promoting ilegal immigration if they endorse a silly boring movie like this one. Don't waste your time and money.

  • June 23, 2008 sterncarl
    Report This User

    Should be nominated for movie of the year! Superb acting/directing/editing. Heart-wrenching story but warm and touching. Wish everyone could see it.

  • June 20, 2008 lisoundvi
    Report This User

    This is a wonderful, heart wrenching film....not for people without imagination or sense of humility. Not for the prejudiced or narrow minded. It's real life, showing how badly we do treat many good people looking for what our ancestors came here for.

  • June 17, 2008 ICE TIME
    Report This User

    Just awful. Save your money. You will have more fun sitting in your backyard watching the grass grow.

  • June 17, 2008 mtarina
    Report This User

    This movie was dark & dismal. It also was the first movie that we ever walked out on. My friend left for the mens room and then called me from the parking lot.

`

similar movies

  • Philomena (2013)

  • The Past (2013)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Blue Jasmine (2013)

  • Ida (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X