Skip to main content

reviews

81
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 58 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    You watch The Wrestler (with a superb title song from Bruce Springsteen) in a state of pure exhilaration. A great actor in a great movie will do that to you. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The movie has the simplicity and confidence of a Johnny Cash song. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The story has its clichéd and sentimental moments. It's no "Raging Bull," more like "Rocky" shot with a handheld camera. But Rourke's wounded tough guy is undeniably captivating. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Director, Darren Aronofsky, and the writer, Robert D. Siegel, have turned the story of this washed-up faux gladiator into a film of authentic beauty and commanding consequence. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's a haunting, scary, funny, sad portrayal from Rourke. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Both Rourke and Tomei bring a tender, lived-in honesty to their sad roles. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Bolstered by a career-best performance from Mickey Rourke and outstanding work by Marisa Tomei and Evan Rachel Wood. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is Rourke doing astonishing physical acting. show more

  • 100
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The Wrestler is a character study, no more and no less, yet it's open-ended enough to function as many things. show more

  • 100
    Premiere

    Rourke is getting tons of press and award nominations, but Marisa Tomei kicks ass too. Not only does the one-time Oscar winner look amazing and perform her own pole tricks, but she effectively humanizes what could be just another naked chick in a movie. show more

  • June 12, 2013 Mike
    Report This User

    Let me say that for a portion of my life you could consider me as an insider when it comes to professional wrestling. This movie is the most accurate depiction of the real life people behind the characters of wrestling. A great piece of work.

  • December 02, 2009 mr rbi4u
    Report This User

    For those who thought this film was boring and without "substance,"---look in the mirror. Clearly one of the best films of last year, and with acting of the highest caliber. The only problem I had with the movie was the wrestling scenes were difficult to watch. The destruction of those men for a piddling amount of money--though voluntary--is a grim reality I would rather do without.

  • May 26, 2009 God's child
    Report This User

    A lot of dept to this film. I could relate to an aging professional and the hardache of life. Very good story.

  • May 25, 2009 jackie
    Report This User

    My favorite line was "I don't get hurt in there, it's out here I get hurt" When marisa Tomei is trying to persuade him not go into the ring.

  • April 06, 2009 Smellsnice123
    Report This User

    the movie was awsome i think that mickey should have gotten the oscar for his performance

  • March 22, 2009 Pzkpfw6
    Report This User

    No one, and I mean no one, could have played a dilapidated loser better than Rourke! Ripped off of an Oscar due to the politically correct in Hollywood. The man was not acting! That was his story, his life up there on screen for all to see. We will never see anything close to this again.

  • March 17, 2009 Ericaesherman
    Report This User

    Mickey Rourke was outstanding. Just to renew who and what he is all about in The Wrestler was more than worthwhile. Any of the above reviews who criticize the film, know nothing about wrestling or for that matter, what they are talking about.

  • March 15, 2009 citylendersgroup
    Report This User

    Acting: (5 Stars) just brilliant! Filming: (5 Stars)very basic and raw, at times you feel like it is a documentary. Story:(4 Stars) Sad but true. It is not just about a wrestler. It is about getting old and living with what you created, good or bad. The story shows the life of many people that made bad choices and now their youth has passed and they feel pushed aside by life. It has a very strong intelligent message that is hard to watch because it is so realistic. It is the kind of movie that reveals a man's sin, this makes it very hard to watch but such a great story. It is the story of an aging wrestler that is forced to live with the consuquences of his life. A life spent living for himself instead of his family.It also tells the story of an aging stripper that slowly realizes her beauty has faded and she is no longer an object of desire but an object of ridicule.It was hard to watch at times because it is painful to see the characters living with such burdens and experiencing the pain of a waisted life, but as art, it was brilliant!

  • March 09, 2009 vicoa2
    Report This User

    Take a walk on the seedy side. Rouke is talented and he shows it. However in his off screen appearances, he still reveals his self-destructive, wannabe-cool self. One has to wonder if he can fly.

  • March 08, 2009 RubrNut1
    Report This User

    Rourke was great but the the movie was slow and dragged out at times and should have had more to do with his daughter and him reconciling. Was a sad movie really,

`

similar movies

  • Cinderella Man (2005)

  • He Got Game (1998)

  • The Fighter (2010)

  • Trouble With the Curve (2012)

  • Warrior (2011)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X