suicide squad

The "Suicide Squad" is officially assembled, and director David Ayer has shared the first photo of the entire cast (minus Jared Leto) together.

The picture, taken at a table read, is notable for a number of reasons, including the surprise revelation of some new members of the ensemble. Among the fresh faces are The Mindy Project," "Neighbors," the upcoming Tina Fey-Amy Poehler flick "Sisters") and Adam Beach ("Flags of Our Fathers").

There's also one glaring omission: Joker Leto, whose newly-shaved visage is MIA. (We assume he was probably off somewhere having his hair dyed green.)

Still, this pseudo class photo is pretty awesome, and it's cool to see so many stars packed into one picture. They include the previously-confirmed Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Cara Delevingne, Joel Kinnaman, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, and Karen Fukuhara.

"Suicide Squad" is due in theaters on August 5, 2016.

[via: David Ayer, h/t Coming Soon]

Photo credit: David Ayer