Lake Placid (1999)

"You'll never know what bit you."Movie
Audience Score
Lake Placid
Amazon Video logo
Apple iTunes logo
Microsoft Store logo
YouTube logo
Google Play Movies logo
AMC on Demand logo
Starz Apple TV Channel logo
Vudu logo
When a man is eaten alive by an unknown creature, the local Game Warden teams up with a paleontologist from New York to find the beast. Add to the mix an eccentric philanthropist with a penchant for "Crocs", and here we go! This quiet, remote lake is suddenly the focus of an intense search for a crocodile with a taste for live animals...and people!

Lake Placid Collection

Lake Placid is an American series of monster horror/comedy films created by David E. Kelley. It is a campy throwback to the old creature features. Produced and distributed by Sony Pictures Home Entertainment, the series began with Lake Placid (1999) directed by Steve Miner. This was followed by five television sequels, Lake Placid 2 (2007) directed by David Flores, Lake Placid 3 (2010) directed by Griff Furst, Lake Placid: The Final Chapter (2012) directed by Don Michael Paul, Lake Placid vs. Anaconda (2015) directed by A. B. Stone and being a crossover with the Anaconda series, and Lake Placid: Legacy (2018) directed by Darrell Roodt. Each installment revolves around the presence of giant, 30-foot-long man-eating crocodiles in the fictional location of Black Lake, Maine, and the efforts of various groups to capture or destroy the creatures. All of the films reference members of the fictitious "Bickerman" family.

Movie Details

Theatrical Release:July 16th, 1999
On DVD & Blu-ray:January 11th, 2000 - Buy DVD
Movie Budget:$27,000,000
Movie Box Office Gross:$56,870,414 (Worldwide)
Original Language:English
Executive Producers:Peter Bogart
Production Companies:Rocking Chair Productions, Fox 2000 Pictures, Phoenix Pictures, David E. Kelley Productions, 20th Century Fox