Skip to main content

reviews

43
Based on 28 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Gray says she hates fishermen who catch and release: Getting jerked around hurts the jaw. See this movie and you'll know the feeling. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Rough around the edges, but once you get used to the laconic pace, the plot grooves along nicely. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Catch and Release is not worth catching. Release yourself from boredom by giving it a miss. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The film suffers from a style that settles for pleasant or touching at the cost of spontaneous or impassioned. Too bad, because Ms. Garner is a genuinely pleasing presence. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Grant's film plays like a two-hour episode of "Friends" intercut with "Seventh Heaven." Those sounds you hear are wisecrack, heartbreak, heartbreak, wisecrack, wisecrack. show more

  • 38
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Really, women drag their husbands and boyfriends to films like writer-director Susannah Grant's emotionally bogus Catch and Release and I feel their pain. They should get a free Boys Night Out pass every time they make the sacrifice. show more

  • 63
    Angel Cohn TV Guide

    As soon as it pitches camp in generic romantic-comedy territory, it loses its intriguing edge and becomes one more predictable girl-meets-unsuitable-boy story. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Making her feature-film directorial debut, Grant is going for an everyday conversational texture and a sense of life's curveballs. But the results wander and you never really believe them. show more

  • 50
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    So superficial and formulaic that even Garner's mega-watt grin can't completely save it. show more

  • 50
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    There's a funkier and more interesting movie in Maureen, a character played by Juliette Lewis. Maureen is a single mom, a massage therapist, and a dimwit California follower of every new-age theory out there. She's a nasal, needy wreck, and Catch and Release is torn between adoring her and making ruthless fun of her. show more

  • May 22, 2008 linfost4
    Report This User

    I have watched it over and over again to get a clear meaning of the PLOT. I only wished more dialog between Gray and Frizt. the looks and smiles needed some dialog...would love to see a sequel with Gray and Fritz discovering themselves and deciding if it was just two lonely people or real love.

  • May 22, 2008 musicrose05
    Report This User

    A great movie.You have to see it.

  • May 22, 2008 cbsweeks
    Report This User

    Great movie. Life is not perfect and being cheated on stinks. True to life, people often are not what we think they are. Look for deeper manings. Great efforts by all. To much time wated on the dumb "other" woman and DNA. Got it! Timothy hit all the right buttons for romance! He fell,and Gray saw the real caring person he was. Gray found true happiness at last. That is how I chose to read this movie. I did not care for blurred scenes. Is there a sequel?

  • May 22, 2008 savage455
    Report This User

    these reviews are awful... first off its a decent movie that gave me 90 minutes where i could relax see pretty girls and laugh at kevin smiths wit, thats all a movie like this is really for, passing a little time and getting a few laugh in... i thought the cast was a great choice (although i was not a jennifer garner fan, she played the part well and i forgot that i didn't like her by the end) originally i only watched because kevin smith had a big part and he was actually speaking in this one but i enjoyed the whole movie, Juliet Lewis who i normally can't get enough of had a crappy part, her character made you want to 'slap a ho' but i think that was on purpose... Olyphant was great as usual but Mr.Smith stole every scene he was in, you could tell he had ALOT of freedom with his character because it was almost as if he wrote his own dialogue, his characer was basically the Kevin Smith that you see in his movies and his "an evening with" DVD's and that was what i was hoping for... they marketed this as a Romantic movie and basically only showed Garner and Olyphant in the comercials, they ignored the fact that it was funny as hell ( maybe because it's only funny in a philisophically iron kinda way, meaning the jokes require thought) most people had the jokes flying right over their heads as did the newpaper reviewers... ALSO the synopsis thats on here is very wrong about the plot, whoever wrote it must have watched the first ten minutes then jumped to the first 10 seconds of each chapter because they got little more than the names correct, oh and someone was dead they had that right... now i want a sequel where Lewis gets preggy from Smith and he spends the movie trying to get her to marry him while Olyphant and Garner are going through a messy divorce and that other guy turns gay, write it Kevin, WRITE IT

  • May 22, 2008 ktp02d
    Report This User

    "DON'T READ!!!!! DON'T READ""DO NOT READ THIS MESSAGE"IN 1945 , A YOUNG GIRL NAMED KATU LATA KULUCAME OVER HERE FROM AFRICA. AMYSTERIOUS MAN KILLED HER BY CUTTING THE WORDS "LATUALATUKA"INTO HER BACK. NOW THAT YOU HAVE READ THIS MESSAGE SHE WILL COME TOYOUR HOUSE ON A FULL MOON AND STEAL YOUR SOULUNLESS YOU FOLLOW THESE DIRECTIONS: RETYPE THIS 3 MORE MOVIE COMMENTS""""

  • May 22, 2008 Grama Fluff Fluf
    Report This User

    Throughly enjoyed seeing Jennifer Gardner on the screen again. Although the movie dragged from time to time, I enjoyed the simplicity and that there was also deeper meaning. You think you know someone but you might not...

  • May 22, 2008 vividgyal
    Report This User

    First of all, this was a new concept that I fell in love with....the whole movie was such a refreshing change from what I am used to seeing. The acting was great...Kevin Smith was awesome...he seemed to "know" the character and he was brilliant! I walked away thinking this was in my top 3! I say GO SEE IT!!!

  • May 22, 2008 shadowcat024
    Report This User

    DON'T READ!!!!! DON'T READ""DO NOT READ THIS MESSAGE"IN 1945 , A YOUNG GIRL NAMED KATU LATA KULUCAME OVER HERE FROM AFRICA. AMYSTERIOUS MAN KILLED HER BY CUTTING THE WORDS "LATUALATUKA"INTO HER BACK. NOW THAT YOU HAVE READ THIS MESSAGE SHE WILL COME TOYOUR HOUSE ON A FULL MOON AND STEAL YOUR SOULUNLESS YOU FOLLOW THESE DIRECTIONS: RETYPE THIS 3 MORE MOVIE COMMENTS"""

  • May 22, 2008 lwjax48
    Report This User

    I thought it was great...great characters; nice approach on a new theme for a change in romantic comedy/drama. Sensitive, poignant, and good look from both sexes..Well done!!

  • May 22, 2008 sydneyloowhoo
    Report This User

    I think this movie was GREAT listen to me i am 50 years old and i have seen alot of movies BUT out of ALL of them this one is the BEST!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X