Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 45 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Footloose 2011 is harmless as far as it goes, but on the dance floor and off it never goes nearly far enough. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The new Footloose does everything it needs to do. It's a vibrant youth musical that will appeal to audiences who haven't seen the 1984 original. And it has enough charm and life to it to compete with the memory of the earlier version. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Silly as it was, the first movie had a more innocent and campy spirit than this calculated, if faithful, redo. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    As remakes go, Footloose is fine, serving up slightly fresher batches of cheese and corn. But why? Why? show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Oddly, Craig Brewer has softened the tone for his remake. But nearly everything else remains intact, and -- surprisingly -- that's just enough to win us over. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    The new film may also serve a purpose by showcasing a dynamic and attractive new actor, Kenny Wormald but, otherwise, this is a by-the-numbers affair. show more

  • 90
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Brewer, who spent most of his childhood in Memphis, is one of the few contemporary filmmakers I know of who can make movies about the South without sentimentalizing it, glorifying it or looking down on it. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Footloose won me over early, with a sequence in which the hero gets all heavy metal while restoring his badass ... VW Bug. show more

  • 63
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The result is that rare breed of big-studio pictures: A remake that makes sense. show more

  • 63
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    Footloose never needed to be dragged into the 21st century, but Brewer has made it look and sound a little bit more like the real world. show more

  • November 25, 2011 nw00000000090908
    Report This User

    I liked it

  • November 13, 2011 shannonwalsh194
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE IS AMAZINGGGGGG. I\'VE SEEN IT 5 TIMES AND I\'M GOING TO SEE IT AGAIN TODAY. IT\'S MY NEW FAVORTIE MOVIE E VER.

  • November 11, 2011 piggyismylove
    Report This User

    this is legit my favorite movie ever. im going to see it again today.

  • November 29, 2011 bdolls
    Report This User

    JUST AS GOOD AS THE FIRST ONE

  • November 02, 2011 mbodeep
    Report This User

    personally i thought julliene was outstandiing

  • November 02, 2011 bc00000000105012
    Report This User

    movie is great. loved everything about it..worth watching..movie wont dissapoint.

  • October 31, 2011 jb00000000104685
    Report This User

    This should be called \"Footless\". There is very little quality dancingin this film and the infamous warehouse scene is nothing short of a travesty. The lead is shot from the waste up in most of the dance scenes which means that he could not get the footwork right in most of the production numbers if you can actually even call them that. Julianne Hough is very pretty and would make a great stripper but it takes a little more than bump and grind to a make a great dancer. Most of her moves lacked grace and in some instances were just down right raunchy. Do yourself a favor go on Netflix, download the original, pop some popcorn and enjoy some real dancing. Don\'t waste your money on this tasteless wanna- bee remake.

  • October 31, 2011 asarnel
    Report This User

    This was a very doumb movie. It did not make sense. I got my money back. Be sure to save you ticket In fact \"dumb\" is too good a word to discribe it.

  • October 30, 2011 Stirling3020
    Report This User

    Love, love, loved ********** just a feel good story with amazing music and dancing. Really felt it was the most entertaining movies. I never saw the original but this one was current with music, technology, \"attitude\" and dress. Straight up entertainment!!!!!

  • October 26, 2011 Moviecritique
    Report This User

    Moral of the story: DOnt press charges if you are a pretty teen girl whose face is beaten and battered by anolder biy, because afterwards you will immediately meet, fall in love with , and dance your troubles away with a handsome young man.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X