Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 100
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Frothy and exuberantly entertaining - in part because of the sexual innuendoes - it's the best romantic comedy so far this year. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A good farce is hard to find. Particularly one that holds up for the entirety of the story and keeps us engrossed, while smiling. Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day is a particularly effective and cheeky example. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    At least Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day has the good grace to go wrong quickly, you don't have to sit there squirming with doubt. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A jubilee for McDormand and jolly good fun for most everyone else. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    It's left to the ideally cast McDormand to keep everything on track and, as expected, she weathers every tonal change with competence, confidence and a perfectly stiff upper lip. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Sustains itself through terrific forward momentum and two glorious star turns by gifted actresses Frances McDormand and Amy Adams. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Adams shines brightly, reinforcing the image she projected in Junebug and enhanced in Enchanted and Charlie Wilson's War. At this time of the year, it's tough to find a more diverting way to spend 90 minutes in a multiplex. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Style is a tricky, elusive thing, and this film doesn’t so much have it as strive for it, constantly. But something in Watson’s story endures: The wish-fulfillment truly satisfies. And with the war clouds gathering by story’s end, the fairy tale acquires a bittersweet edge, nicely cutting all that whipped cream. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    The only thing missing from this winsome, madcap throwback set in London on the eve of World War II is an actual Brit in the title role. show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Looks and sounds great, and is at its best when it isn't trying too hard to have fun. show more

  • August 01, 2011 Greg
    Report This User

    Great great movie. I\'ve watched it many times, and it just gets better and better. I particularly like the performance by Shirley Henderson.

  • May 22, 2008 ABux881580
    Report This User

    I saw this movie this afternoon with my sister and we both\nthought it was a sweet movie. I give it a B. Not a buyer on\ndvd however, makes a good rental on netflix when available.

  • May 22, 2008 evergreenre
    Report This User

    The only thing we saw was that Frances McDormand must have needed the money.We walked out after 50 minutes.

  • May 22, 2008 Janken4
    Report This User

    Maybe my expectations were too high but I was a little disappointed with this movie. I thought the story would be more about Miss Pettigrew and less about Amy Adams' character. I guess I was a little turned off by the fact that Delysia was sleeping with 3 different men to get what she wanted. I did enjoy Frances McDormand's character though. She was a very simple, yet honest and caring person who tried to help Delysia understand the importance of real love. I thought the last 15-20 minutes were the best part of the movie because it ended beautifully.

  • May 22, 2008 syriphym
    Report This User

    The music, the era, the acting....just loved it all! Just long enough with a great ending! Best movie I've seen in a long time!

  • May 22, 2008 jntmatts
    Report This User

    I loved everything about this movie. Very up lifting

  • May 22, 2008 pettedgui
    Report This User

    Absolutely loved this movie! The swing music was full of energy that carried the film so well. Simple romantic themes were quite touching. Going to see it again!

  • May 22, 2008 ggpetrocco
    Report This User

    Absolutely enchanted with the movie! Divine intervention was in store for both Delysia and Miss Pettigrew simply because they were driven by necessity to take risks. Delysia having the charm, wit, and confidence in getting what she wanted, only to find her life in complete chaos, and leading her on a path to self-destruction were it not for Miss Pettigrew walking into her life unexpectedly. . .Aahhh, Miss Pettigrew's experience and Wisdom in having been through WWI came through loud and clear. The shallowness of youth and the privileged was clearly defined in this movie. Ciaran Hinds reminded me of the late Robert Mitchum, and I was certain he had way too much class to not know a diamond in the rough when he saw it. . . .Beautiful ending. . . .Honesty and truth prevailed.Genie P.Kudos for the director and producer of this fine movie with

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    There's a great deal of artful work in this movie. The writing, the cinematography, the directing, the acting, the editing. Well worth the time and effort.

  • May 22, 2008 Mel
    Report This User

    Frances McDormand is a favorite of mine from her Fargo days. I am sure she did a good job in this movie but my wife and I didn't hang around long enough to find out. Amy Adams can't act. The movie was senseless and Amy's shrill of a voice and fast talking pace never made it to my brain. Also, I was not expecting a "period piece" to be so off the mark that it was absolutely unfathomable and totally looney. After about 20 minutes of Amy Adam's "voice boarding," we walked out and went into see The Bank Job, which was a good movie. In the future Amy Adams is off my list. If she is in a movie, any movie, I won't go.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X