Skip to main content

reviews

55
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 21 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The film's major sin of omission: the music. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    If you've ever wondered what it would be like to be there - to actually be there, man - this movie gets it. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This is Woodstock from another perspective -- one without Jimi Hendrix or Janis Joplin. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    The gentle, ambling Ang Lee comedy that's a few tokes short of groovy. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Lee distills the flavor of this transforming event and hints at how it transformed some who were there. His movie is a contact high. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Something of a traffic jam--even with his usual restraint, Lee couldn't recount a key moment of the '60s without a blurry parade of personalities--and also lullingly dull. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    It's a low-wattage film about a high-wattage event. Which is somewhat disappointing, though you do get a thoughtful, playful, often amusing film about what happened backstage at one of the '60s' great happenings. show more

  • 50
    NPR

    Taking Woodstock has a winning generosity of spirit, but even that serves chiefly to underline the film's curious inconsequentiality, as if it were a two-hour pilot for a show about a charmingly eccentric family and a rotating cast of colorful guest stars. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Taking Woodstock has the freshness of something being created, not remembered. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    This is very light material, and, unusually for a Lee picture, not everybody in the ensemble appears to be acting in the same universe, let alone the same story. On the other hand: It’s fun. show more

  • September 04, 2011 qdcmab
    Report This User

    Loved it!!!!

  • September 19, 2009 TheyCallMe Sp00f
    Report This User

    THIS WAS THE WORST EXCUSE FOR A MOVIE EVER! I HATED IT I HATED IT. I saw it with my fly biatchress and I thought it was the biggest waste of time of my life. I just wanted to get the hell out of here.

  • September 10, 2009 Christy
    Report This User

    This would have been a GREAT documentary. Unfortunately Ang Lee used screen splitting in his attempt to keep it from dragging and failed. The story line and characters did not draw you into caring about them. One bright spot was Imelda Stauton's acting - great and funny.

  • September 09, 2009 mcbandit98
    Report This User

    Accurate depiction of the event and the people, with enough humor to keep it enjoyable.

  • September 08, 2009 aprilsea
    Report This User

    I had hopes this movie would capture some of the magic of Woodstock. It didnt even come close. The behind the scenes finanial dealings were boring. The movie didnt even have much music except a soft background track here and there. This movie totally missed the fantastic phenomena that was Woodstock. Rent the documentary footage "Woodstock"for a great experience.

  • September 07, 2009 Sierrahony
    Report This User

    If you are looking to relive the "scene" you'll have to wait for a movie on the Monterey Pops Festival which happened before, and inspired Woodstock. This movie focused on what Woodstock was *really* about - money. If you have seen the trailers, you have seen it all.

  • September 07, 2009 nyma9
    Report This User

    I saw the filming of this movie and thought it was exciting, but the end result is a lame-o mishmash of I don't know what. The subject matter could have been interesting, but it was poorly executed here. No interest in the main characters at all. Perhaps there was too much editing and bad screenplay writing. Overall, a dud. Would not even recommend renting it!

  • September 05, 2009 SHOEMKER
    Report This User

    If the movie doesn't have the music, then I won't go to see it. Thats one of the biggest parts. I was there with my cousin Phil. We hitch hike all the way with $450.00 between us. I guess you just had to be there! Peace... I still have the clothes I wore.

  • September 04, 2009 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    I'd rate the movie a moderate sucess,but disapointing in a few areas.I agree with the comment that a major disappointment of the film is the absence of any really good music.In passing, you hear CSN&Y and Richie Havens at end of movie,but not much else in between. It's ok from the"place and time" recreation standpoint, but you never actually see any performers on stage- only crowds of young people of the edges of the concert,again,never hearing much music. Probably too many production + copyright problems I'd guess. Some tangentsofthestorydon't makealotof sense(the"security guy " cross dresser",) but not wholly without merit.

  • September 03, 2009 hor1zonjob
    Report This User

    Borrows the Woodstock event as a setting for a wimpy young man's anguish over his sexuality and path in life. Disappointing for the most part. His parents in the movie were more entertaining, especially the mom. And Ang Lee continues his titillation with male kissing, throwing in some scenes and then moving on. Having grown up in the '60s, some scenes in the movie brought up good memories of those days. Nevertheless, I grew bored with the lead character's thinly protrayed anguish as the movie rolled along. Go if you like to see men kissing, frontal nudity and you enjoy flashbacks to the '60s. Otherwise, don't bother.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X