Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Say what you will about the Runaways – they never played it safe. The movie does. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The strength and beauty of The Runaways are that it tells the truth. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's an artistic and authentic evocation of an era but a rather surface-skimming story of the '70s all-girl rock band fronted by Joan Jett and Cherie Currie. If anything, it just makes you want to know more about Jett's back story and Currie's subsequent life. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Despite Sigismondi's fresh eye, feminist perspective, and rapport with actors, The Runaways feels like a long-form music video, recycling every trope from the doomed-rocker handbook. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Fanning's Currie grabs the spotlight immediately, and never lets go. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The vigor and pace is electric, and the movie features three showy performances by Kristen Stewart, Dakota Fanning and Michael Shannon. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    A rich and surprisingly old-fashioned musical biopic, The Runaways has neither the bloat nor the blather of your average Hollywood treatment of stars on the rise. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Its interest comes from Shannon's fierce and sadistic training scenes as Kim Fowley, and from the intrinsic qualities of the performances by Stewart and Fanning, who bring more to their characters than the script provides. show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    A soaring, sympathetic ode to the outlaws, subversives and insurgents who occupy the edges of popular culture, making them safe for everyone else's dreams. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    In rock, it's about the attitude as much as the music. In some cases, more so. And the Runaways were all attitude. show more

  • July 30, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    A rock bio about the first big all girl rock band. Michael Shannon gives his best performance as the producer, but the principals also give great performances. Interesting and entertaining.

  • July 29, 2010 nybxrgrl
    Report This User

    To Linderecho....I believe The Runaways came out a few days ago on dvd at blockbuster. Now u can see it :)

  • July 21, 2010 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    It was alright. Worth renting. I'm really glad I didn't grow up in the 70's. I don't care for the fashion.

  • April 28, 2010 tksgroupie
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. it's left me craving the music and the fashion of the era. great music, wonderful shots & moods. Kristen Stewart was an amazing believeable joan jett. i've seen it twice and would go again....

  • April 21, 2010 auteve88
    Report This User

    I love the older rock era, and when I watched the movie, I was NOT disappointed! I loved it! It explained where and how Cherie came into the picture of Joan Jett, I felt that the movie portrayed both women well. The only thing I would ask for is to see more of how they went on after the movie. Maybe more details or time spent on the "where they are now" attitude. I would definitely recommend this movie to others!!

  • April 14, 2010 sseeds47
    Report This User

    The movie is so good. Dakota Fanning is such a great actress. A must see movie. To be honest all the actors and actresses done a great job. The music is wonderful. Cherie Currie was before her time. When you hear her sing it's like a woman who went through so much. The Runaway was such a great female band. I place it along side Crazy Heart...

  • April 10, 2010 cheerbear7291
    Report This User

    forgot to rate the movie in my comment, lol.

  • April 09, 2010 K15Neema
    Report This User

    Why,Why,Why isn't this movie close enough for me to see it!!! I live in Bowling Green, Ohio. Just outside of Toledo. The closet threater showing this movie is in MICHIGAN!!!! This section is for reviews though so here you go. I'm sure it's a great movie. So go and see it but keep in mind I haven't seen it.I n my local threater it's only two bucks, i'm sorry for those of you how have to pay 10 bucks just to see if the movie is sucky or not. If it helps the crtics seem to like it so go and see it!

  • April 03, 2010 dionysusaz
    Report This User

    disjointed mess that didn't go anywhere, boring. Seems like they wanted us to understand these people yet offered very little character development. Felt like a collage of mundane pieces from a group of people separately thinking “wow this would be neat to see” and forgetting to view the finished pr

  • April 03, 2010 chatdiva101
    Report This User

    i didnt see the movie yet...will i like it !?!??!? it looks okay!

`

similar movies

  • Sid & Nancy (1986)

  • Nowhere Boy (2009)

  • The Doors (1991)

  • Almost Famous (2000)

  • An Education (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X