Skip to main content

reviews

94
Based on 41 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 30 )
  • 100
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Whatever a modern love story is, Before Midnight takes it to the next level. It's damn near perfect. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The latest in the wonderful "Before" series does three important things: It breaks out of the courtship formula, yet retains the series' quality, and it moves the lives of Celine (Julie Delpy) and Jesse (Ethan Hawke) forward in ways that are satisfying and believable. True, a romance you once envied might now be a relationship you'd not want to be in, but as long as Celine and Jesse are still talking, there's hope. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Bittersweet, intelligently written, deftly acted and painfully honest. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    This is a movie that mines deep beneath the surface of human feeling. It will make you think - about love, about life, about two people who aren't real, except that they've become so for so many of us in this improbably successful indie franchise. show more

  • 100
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Delpy and Hawke, who’ve invested this trilogy with the fine shadings of life lived, do extraordinary things with small moments. show more

  • 100
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    The work Richard Linklater and company started in 1995's Before Sunrise retains a clarity of spirit undimmed by 18 years. show more

  • 90
    Bob Mondello NPR

    Delpy and Hawke have never been more persuasive. Nor has the series. show more

  • 100
    Farran Smith Nehme New York Post

    Making a movie this warm, funny, and rigorously truthful about lovers trying to remain partners is even harder. show more

  • 100
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    It's a rare and powerful thing to confront something honest and real on the big screen. It stays with you in a way that nothing else can. Before Midnight is fiction but it might as well be a documentary. show more

  • 100
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    If the first two films belong with the greatest (if talkiest) movie romances of all time, the new film is richer, riskier, and more bleakly perceptive about what it takes for love to endure (or not) over the long haul. show more

  • January 04, 2014 px00000000177151
    Report This User

    My personal favorite of the series. It\'s a great movie, that gives an honest glimpse of ******** like to be in a relationship that lasts your entire life.

  • November 06, 2013 vernon6082
    Report This User

    Boreing, what else can I say. It was like listening to 2 people and their whole boreing conversation. sorry I wasted my time on viewing this movie!

  • September 13, 2013 drjlon
    Report This User

    I was absolutely blown away by this movie - I found it mesmerizing, honest and compelling. I especially liked the dinner with friends - very impressed with the honesty of the 2 main actors - a worthy successor to the two previous films which I also enjoyed!

  • August 08, 2013 jn00000000161280
    Report This User

    Truly loved the first two films, am bitterly upset with the third. I am well aware of the reality of life forming sharp edges to idealistic hope of youth. But this visceral verbal attack coming from insecurity, paranoia, and selfishness left me with a mouthful of acid reflux. Jessie and Celine did not have to descend so far into this pit of vipers. Gratuitous, self-indulgent, and pathetic. Only decent moment was the older woman at the dinner scene ************** who late husband with affection. Shameful desecration of two beautiful characters.

  • August 01, 2013 Kate
    Report This User

    Don\'t know why I do this every time, see a movie the critics score high. This movie was a complete waste of my money. If I wanted to watch a couple argue, I could have stayed at home. Was ready to walk out in the middle but said it has to get better. I was wrong. Bad from beginning to end!

  • July 30, 2013 lewpotato
    Report This User

    What a waste of time.

  • July 16, 2013 jg00000000156982
    Report This User

    I rarely walk out on a film, but I could not take the total lack of what many critics called, \"witty, contemplative banter\". There was NO really meaningful dialogue, unless you call the banal discourse most of have on relationships witty and contemplative. And NO action, NO drama, nothing!

  • July 01, 2013 kevguy11
    Report This User

    It seems to me that if a film is going to be TALK-driven, the TALK should be interesting, if not memorable. Comparing this to Albee, makes my point. Before Midnight redefines tedious.

  • June 29, 2013 NORM615
    Report This User

    excellent movie. very true to life. brilliant dialogue

  • June 28, 2013 barnetts
    Report This User

    NOTHING BUT A LOT OF FIGHTING. THE HUSBAND SAYS SOMETHING. SHE TWISTS IT AROUND TO MEAN SOMETHING ELSE. THAT WAS THE ENTIRE MOVIE. SUCH A DIFFERENCE WHAT THE MOVIE CRITICS HAD TO SAY ABOUT THE MOVIE AND WHAT THE MOVIEGOERS HAD TO SAY. I HATED THIS MOVIE.

`

similar movies

  • Before Sunset (2004)

  • Before Sunrise (1995)

  • Rust and Bone (2012)

  • Her (2013)

  • The Spectacular Now (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X