Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 36 )
  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Brothers has the careful observation, measured pace and lived-in feeling of a good European film. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    In exploring the complicated nature of family bonds, Brothers is thought-provoking. The wounds inflicted by the cruelty of a troubled parent can prove as painful as battle scars. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A heartbreaking film that speaks to the lifelong aftershocks of war, and to the powerful bonds of family and of love. show more

  • 30
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Brothers tries to delve into how war can tear families apart, but only succeeds in showing how miscasting and melodrama obscure good intentions. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Irish director Jim Sheridan, who has made his films in America in recent years, now delivers an American remake that hues closely to the original but loses some of its true grit. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This becomes Tobey Maguire's film to dominate, and I've never seen these dark depths in him before. Actors possess a great gift to surprise us, if they find the right material in their hands. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The film is gripping---an honorable and beautifully acted addition to the tradition of homefront war stories. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Brothers is arguably the most successful remake of a foreign film since Martin Scorsese reworked "Infernal Affairs" into "The Departed" and won the Oscar. show more

  • 75
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    It does take half the movie before the story --really kicks in. When it does, it'll knock the air out of you. show more

  • 50
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Brothers is a collection of strong moments that don't add up to anything. The movie is all build-up. show more

  • March 05, 2011 TMarie1188
    Report This User

    I Loved this movie

  • June 21, 2010 ireckin1971
    Report This User

    Acting was awesome, if you like action, horror, comedy and not in to tear-jerker movies ********** this one. If you want to feel touchy feely and like emotional movies, this one is for you.

  • April 14, 2010 jackd1207
    Report This User

    This was one of those well acted movies that you are glad you watched it, but you don't care to watch again. Just too disturbing. Worth a first look!

  • April 01, 2010 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    Good movie. They all did a good job acting. It was great seeing Tobey lose his mind.

  • March 14, 2010 BROOKEJERIBROOKE
    Report This User

    I am so excited for this movie to come out! I check it almost everyday! Anybody ********** gets into a Tobey Maguire film would see how in character he gets, truly a gifted man. Your doing wonderful Tobey! Keep up the amazing work! :)

  • March 10, 2010 Brad Bartlett
    Report This User

    I thought it was one of the best movies of last year. So moving, great acting, I cried my eyes out!

  • February 25, 2010 myracc
    Report This User

    POWERFUL....VERY POWERFUL MOVIE....A MUST SEE

  • January 10, 2010 Maryelexus
    Report This User

    Wow, this movie was deeply intensed. It was somewhat slow in parts, then it skipped alot of parts, but you knew where it was going--and it was going to be bad. The older child actress should be nominated to say the least. Toby acted from another playing field and made a homerun with his scary eyes, boney frame, and soulless character. The director got the big scene right on point, because I felt I was in the same house with Natalie and the kids and I needed to call 911. No movie has ever taken me to that level; it was unbelievable. In reality, if this is happening, life would be a living hell and we need to help these military families.

  • January 03, 2010 lizzielv78
    Report This User

    What a pleasant surprise! Overall an EXCELLENT movie! Much better than we expected. The acting was superb...especially the emotion put forth by the little girl. The story line was unique and the direction was great! No unnecessary violence or trashy love scenes. My fiance and I would hightly recommend this movie!

  • December 18, 2009 fburcaw
    Report This User

    I enjoyed this movie. You can really see how this could happen in the current war zone mess. It is very harsh at times and definitely not for children or probably not even teens. The story line is based on a very stark and brutal happening, and can really haunt you after the movie. You do have to suspend a little disbelief since the premise of a soldier being quickly declared dead without a body would be very suspect in real life. However, without that premise there would be no story to tell.

`

similar movies

  • The Messenger (2009)

  • Coming Home (1978)

  • Born on the Fourth of July (1989)

  • Stop-Loss (2008)

  • In the Valley of Elah (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X