Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 66 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Moore's fireball of a movie could change your life. It had me laughing with tears in my eyes. show more

  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    No matter where you stand, there's no denying "Capitalism" is flat-out polemic wizardry. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Impassioned, informative and entertaining, if sometimes repetitive. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A freewheeling denunciation of the capitalist system that is often mordantly funny and, by lurching turns, scornful, rambling, repetitive, impassioned, mock-lofty, pseudo-lowbrow, faux-naïve, persuasive, tabloid-shameless and agit-prop-powerful. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    With mixed results, Moore singles out those who profit from the misery of American workers. show more

  • 70
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Too bad its wide net ultimately results in diminishing returns. show more

  • 70
    The Hollywood Reporter

    This is a typical Moore oeuvre: funny, often over the top and of dubious documentation, but with strongly made points that leave viewers much to ponder and debate after they walk out of the theater. show more

  • 100
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    After watching the bailouts, the bank foreclosures and the Bernie Madoffs of the world dominate headlines, Michael Moore is mad as hell, and he's going to try to make you mad as hell, too. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The film's title is never explained. What does Moore mean? Maybe it's that capitalism means never having to say you're sorry. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    This lively, infuriating and occasionally moving film certainly leaves you thinking, and there isn't a dead spot in it. That's the mark of a real filmmaker, not just a muckraker. show more

  • October 20, 2012 Norm
    Report This User

    Must be right wingers that wrote the critics reviews.I loved it, It is so refreshing to hear and see the truth.Michael

  • March 11, 2010 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    I thought it was alright. Though I think he tends to ignore the potential good that capitalism can bring about. We've become too greedy as a society for good capitalism to exist. This movie shows what damage can be done when state and corporate powers merge (which is really where we went wrong).

  • February 28, 2010 migsat
    Report This User

    its a documentary type of film ...talking to people on the street..etc...saying alot of information about jobs economy etc in the usa...its not the kind you sit and enjoy popcorn and a drink and laugh or wait for suspenseful scene.......its like sitting in a early morning classroom listening to the teacher where i want it to end sooner than later....and then i leave feeling guilty and concerned that i'm not doing more to solve our country's problems.....but i don't know what he thinks i'm supposed to do anyway about it...

  • February 22, 2010 Cybergal100
    Report This User

    Once again , useful idiot M Moore is showing how really evil he can be denouncing the capitalist system while exploiting it. If you want something with substance, see "Shooting Michael Moore" by Chainsaw productions, showing this week in Los Angeles. The film does a great job of exposing Moore’s lies and hypocrisy and is far more entertaining. You might even learn something useful. There is no system that has brought a better life to poor people than capitalism, all other systems benefit only the rich and those who covet power over others.. Even lazy people do better with capitalism. Do you really think George Soros cares about poor people??????????? He exploited the fascist Nazi system when given the opportunity. But he managed to put Obama in office with help of the millions given to ACORN et al and his control over government grows with Obama in office. Get a clue, people. before it's too late. The more power you allow the government over your lives, the more your freedoms erode. It's the government that picks the winners and losers and will pick those who fund their campaigns. Fascism is not capitalism

  • November 26, 2009 dan
    Report This User

    if it weren't for kettlekorn, the ten bucks i paid to see this twaddle would have been a 100% loss. one could make a movie trashing mother theresa...perhaps thats mm's next project. though i doubt he could do nearly as good a job as christopher hitchens did in vanity fair some months ago. moore's talent in the writing, directing and producing reflects much effort, and as box office receipts will attest, a good deal of moolah. but let us not equate moolah with quality or that t word. i am reminded of marx's line, so eloquently expanded upon by ayn rand: from each according to his ability, to each according to his need. oops, i rated this one star, and on changing my mind and attempting to delete it, it wouldn't go away (just so's you know)... kinda like michael moore.

  • November 06, 2009 Jam741955
    Report This User

    First of all saying Capitalism is evil is like saying a ISLAM or MUSLIMS are evil and showing all the horrible things done in the name of ALLAH.....it is propagandist to say the *************** that in Moore's world .the lazy, the undisciplined, the hedonistic who care more about having fun than studying in school, should reap the same benefits and CEOs should make the same as their janitors. But what Moore fails to realize is, with that serious lack of incentive and disregard for values, there would be NO CEOs !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a moron, he should just hang a sign on him saying I AM A COMMUNIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • October 29, 2009 ggibran
    Report This User

    capitolism love story

  • October 27, 2009 mzcombs
    Report This User

    eye-opening movie. see it.

  • October 25, 2009 Mel
    Report This User

    "Excellent," my wife said as we exited the theater. I haven' t heard her use that description since we saw Chicago. She doesn't follow the news so I was surprised. I thought the movie was good even though it was a little too long and I have trouble figuring out where the airline pilot's plight belonged in the film. It could have been left out and then I would have said the same as my wife did.

  • October 25, 2009 main screen name
    Report This User

    if you dont like this movie your living with blinders on!!!

`

similar movies

  • Bowling for Columbine (2002)

  • Sicko (2007)

  • Fahrenheit 9/11 (2004)

  • Inside Job (2010)

  • Manufacturing Dissent (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X