Skip to main content

reviews

56
Based on 44 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 50 )
  • 38
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Jolie comes to this party ready to bite, but the movie muzzles her. Even at 97 minutes, Maleficent is still one long, laborious slog. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Maleficent imparts a feeling of enchantment. Here is a world that's strange and beautiful. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It fails to live up to its early promise, mostly because of an uneven tone and murky character development show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This icon of witchcraft can't save a production that's suffocatingly elaborate yet insufficiently bewitching. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Jolie's Maleficent is magnificent. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Angelina Jolie is so wickedly enchanting in the magical, magnificent Maleficent, you may not notice how transporting this female-driven blockbuster really is. show more

  • 80
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    A few bumpy patches notwithstanding, the new feature is an exquisitely designed, emotionally absorbing work of dark enchantment. show more

  • 60
    Alonso Duralde TheWrap

    The aggressively unpleasant visuals certainly detract from the overall film, but Maleficent makes for a fascinating entry in an ongoing wave of projects that give “bad” women of literature a chance to present their side of the story. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The result is a rare live-action Disney movie that merits comparison to its beloved feature-length cartoons. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Calling Maleficent a "modern-day classic," as some have asserted, is overreaching. The production is engaging and appealing but only the passage of time will determine whether it holds in the memory with the strength of its animated predecessor. show more

  • July 28, 2014 Connie Gansel Harper
    Report This User

    I was not disappointed in this movie, I was if anything surprised by how good it was. It was not your normal mythical movie, and much of the story centering around Angelina Jolies character Maleficent, changing the whole wicked witch into somebody we felt compassion for. Good twists!!! enjoyed the whole movie!!!

  • July 16, 2014 David
    Report This User

    Like the musical Wicked, the interest moves away from Sleeping Beauty to the allegedly wicked Maleficent, who actually turns out to be the good one. I loved the plot twists, and the acting and characters. Go to the movie ready to be surprised, and cast aside your old perceptions of the original Sleeping Beauty classic animated version.

  • July 14, 2014 kittyhawkgrl
    Report This User

    wow-I don't go see movies like this but was suckered into it by my friend. It was amazing!!!! GO SEE IT!!!

  • July 12, 2014 missybutterfly85
    Report This User

    Best Movie and Action and Adventure and most breathe taking of Special effects best comedy and i love Angelina jolie as Maleficent and wonderful Actress and between Villian and end Hero and Elle Fanning as Aurora

  • July 11, 2014 Rosanna
    Report This User

    I went to this movie thinking it was going to be another one of "those" movies where it's so over-the-top that it bartered on boring. But I was pleasantly surprised. Angelina Jolie made this role fun to watch and I enjoyed the other cast as well. I am planning on taking my 12-year-old granddaughter to see it!

  • July 06, 2014 corkette1
    Report This User

    Jolie was perfect in this role. She has perfect timing and movement. I am so relieved that the days of watching that twit Julia Robert's are over.

  • June 29, 2014 ricci614
    Report This User

    Minimally connected to Disney animated feature. Parable of rape and revenge - subtle enough so as not to scare kiddies - ends with clever twist on meaning of "true love's first kiss." Handsome prince is a nothing red herring love interest but plot device of Aurora mistaking Maleficent for her fairy god-mother is nifty and pays off well! Speaking of fairies: the three that care for infant Aurora are unfunny and annoying in the extreme. Also, film ends with a lethargic rendition of "Sleeping Beauty Waltz" - snore.

  • June 25, 2014 ladiamond39
    Report This User

    Absolutely awesome from beginning to end! I give it a 110%..Jolie never fails to EXCITE!

  • June 22, 2014 crabbyoldart
    Report This User

    This movie tells a different tale more true to real life in the matters of love, greed and power....and like all tales, it holds surprises that explain the meaning of true love, friendship and the matters of the world. While dark, it explains that darkness similar to the Lion King and ends very well.

  • June 10, 2014 ocat512
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. Nice story and ending with a different twist. Angelina is great in her part, perfect role for her. She really carried the movie. Special effects were great.

`

similar movies

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

  • Ever After: A Cinderella Story (1998)

  • Fed Up (2014)

  • Million Dollar Arm (2014)

  • Belle (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X