Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 30 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Even when the script slips into sentiment, Peirce sticks with her troubled, questing soldiers, and through this raw and riveting movie, they stick with us. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Clearly, Peirce's motives are pure. She's not using the "stop-loss" issue as a wedge to make the government or the administration look bad. She's using it to dramatize an injustice and to advocate on behalf of the soldiers. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's an uneven experience, with some evocative moments and others that don't resonate as much as they should. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    Swamped by clichés, continuity problems, stock characters and very good intentions. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Stop-Loss carries the emotional force and propulsive drama of the quintessential soldier's story. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Despite several attempts, we're still waiting for the drama that convincingly captures the experienc of soldiers who've fought in Iraq. Stop-Loss" isn't that film, but at the very least its efforts are honorable. show more

  • 60
    The Hollywood Reporter

    A young cast and hotheaded melodramatic streak make it broadly accessible, perhaps enough so to help the film scrape past boxoffice challenges faced by other Iraq-centered features. show more

  • 88
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's a richly textured, psychologically acute film that takes an unblinking look at the tattered life of the returning soldier, and it's boosted by two powerful performances from Phillippe and the increasingly impressive Tatum, a former underwear model who has somehow turned into a fine actor. show more

  • 63
    Chicago Tribune

    While Stop-Loss doesn’t pack anything like the emotional wallop of her previous film, the movies do share Peirce’s clear-eyed refusal to answer difficult questions with simplistic answers. show more

  • 63
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Someone watching Stop-Loss with younger eyes might feel the heat of the main soldier's dilemma more than I did, but I couldn't help thinking director Kimberly Peirce was presenting us with abstract ideas in the forms of half-realized characters. show more

  • September 04, 2008 jenmb456
    Report This User

    Wonderful movie with a powerful message. Doesn't matter if you are pro or anti war. This movie shows something that is happening everyday in our country that many people are unaware of. It is unfortunate for our soliders who did what they agreed to and then got screwed by our president. Everyone should be thankful to these men and women who put their lives on the line for us, weather they are there by choice or by force, they are still there.

  • July 17, 2008 Blonde4996
    Report This User

    I really dont understand any of you because this movie was really interesting to me. I mean seriously are any of you out there fighting this thing im guessing not if you're here typing a review for some movie. So basically neither of you have any clue what is goin on over there and I have a lot of family and friends fighting in this war. We need to support our soildiers to the fullest. Half the stuff they see you will never have to encounter. So i think its real stupid that our soildiers are being stop lossed if they have served their contract thats all that needs to be done.

  • May 22, 2008 fishuser
    Report This User

    This dose nothing to support our real troops Who Bravely fight for our freedom. It is with disgrace that this movie has even been funded. In reality we dont need a bunch of cry babys who think freedom is worth less than their life. I'm trying to get to the point that those who have no freedom would sacrifice anything or anyone to obtain it. Thank God our Founding Fathers, and those who followed them including George Bush were as intelligent and brave as they come.FISH

  • May 22, 2008 chelseaiscool19
    Report This User

    If your anti war...your most likely going to like this movie. If your pro war...your most likely going to hate this movie. Unless both of the parties go in thinking it is just a movie made for entertaining. Because on either side there are MANY holes in this movies "facts". I just think its funny when pro war people go see obvious blatent anti war films then explode in a "i'm so offended" frenzy about what they saw later.

  • May 22, 2008 tiatinydog
    Report This User

    After reading the professional critic reviews of this movie, most of whom said this was a NON-political movie, I went to see it. After sitting through the entire thing, I stayed through the credits to see if the writer/producer/director was Hillary Clinton - it was THAT political. I was appalled at the blatant anti-war, anti-Bush, anti-government, anti-military message that was rampant throughout. The movie's sad attempts at invoking outrage and bleeding-heart-ism by listing all the KIA and portraying the soldiers as unwitting pawns who seemingly had no idea what they were doing when the signed up (did you get that??? SIGNED UP?? as in VOLUNTEERED??) paled in comparison to the portrayal of the Army mom. I was disgusted, outraged, angered, and offended by her approval and suggestion that her son go AWOL. Even driving him to Mexico?! Where he would always be a fugitive, a coward, a dishonor to his country, his family, and his unit?? Never to see him again except eventually in jail?? I don't know of any other Army mom (I know a lot and I AM an Army mom - a PROUD Army mom!) who wants her son to die. But I and all those I know would rather have our sons die with honor than live as cowards in disgrace. Don't go see this movie - it is inaccurate in so many ways (other than the Stop-Loss fantasy, no soldier who goes AWOL and tries to desert would be allowed to deploy - he'd be chaptered out), it is VERY political, and it insults every man and woman in uniform. The writers, producers, directors, studio execs, and everyone connected with this movie should be ashamed.

  • May 22, 2008 main screen name
    Report This User

    if this is the kind of movie you like then it might be a good movie to see. but if not then its probly a good idea to go see another movie ,maybe a movie that you might like. a different movie not this one, something else ,maybe horton hears a who? or something else, i dont know

  • May 22, 2008 Summer
    Report This User

    I had volunteered to see this movie because of the cast, and because the trailer appealed to me. I've to say that although I usually associate these particular actors with more mainstream films and do not take them as seriously as I could, their acting is more than superb. Channing Tatum and Ryan Philippe's dramatic scene in the cemetery blew me away. I highly recommend this film to anyone with any interest at all in this sort of film.

  • May 22, 2008 partypalss
    Report This User

    My teenage daughter saw STOP LOSS last night with another friend and they both cried

  • May 22, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    Stop-Loss is the story of a squad of Iraq vets and one squad leader in particular returning from war. After leading his men into an ambush in which some were killed and others suffered terrible wounds, Sgt. King plans to leave the Army when his enlistment is up. Instead he is "stop-lossed" and ordered back to Iraq. See my full review at johnhuntspace.com/stoploss.html

  • May 22, 2008 bjrboyd
    Report This User

    Another anti-war box office bomb! If you must see it, wait for it to hit your video store, than at least the movie (and the popcorn) won't be too expensive!

`

similar movies

  • The Messenger (2009)

  • The Hurt Locker (2008)

  • Born on the Fourth of July (1989)

  • Jarhead (2005)

  • Full Metal Jacket (1987)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X